“Howards End is on the Landing” by Susan Hill

by

Anna Barber: myartisliving

I so rarely read literary criticism any more, and Susan Hill’s latest book has made me realize how much I miss it, and what a difference it would make to my armoury as a reader. The premise of Howards End is on the Landing is a simple one – rather than being seduced by the lure of best-seller lists and celebrity book-clubs, Susan Hill spent a year reading through the books she already owned. That choice leads her to revisit the authors she loves most dearly, and in doing so she is able to tell us stories about her life as a writer, and a reader, and the encounters she has had with some of the most important cultural figures of the past century.

I must confess that this is the first Susan Hill book I have ever read. I knew about The Woman in Black, of course, but…

View original post 1,057 more words

Leave a Reply

